#ARMCHAIRBEA 2016: AESTHETICS

ArmchairBEA LogoExample

The Books: How often do you judge a book by its cover? How often are you surprised by what you find? Do you strategize and make sure every book in your series has the same cover design (as far as you are able to) and type? How important is it for the visual art on the outside of the book to match or coordinate with the literature art on the inside?

The Blog: As a book blogger, in whatever form that takes, branding is important. Your colors, your fonts, your style of review, all of these things come together to make the “brand” of your blog – something that makes your reviews and posts and websites, all your various content, immediately recognizable to the people looking for you. What do you do to create a brand on your site? Do you think about these things?

ariel

Photo Credit

When I see a beautiful book cover I am not going to lie I will pick it up right away and read the back of it.  A beautiful cover will draw my attention, but it will not be enough to make me buy it unless it sounds good from what I read on the back cover.  What is annoying to me though is when you read a book and the way the characters are described don’t even match the people that are on the cover.  That is why I prefer it when there just aren’t people on the cover so that I can imagine the way that they look versus having this image of the cover people in my head.

tommy

Photo Credit

Honestly I don’t care about “the brand” of my blog I just do what I feel like doing.  I don’t care if the colors coordinate as long as I think they are appealing to me.  I think the fact that not everything has to match in itself makes it a brand as its own I suppose.  I do like a lot of color though, so when I figure out how to mess with everything there will be a lot of color!

candace

What do you guys think?  Are you judgemental about book covers or the way a blog looks?

6 thoughts on “#ARMCHAIRBEA 2016: AESTHETICS

  1. I think a book cover can make or break a book purchase for me. I am always first drawn to the astetics of the cover and then for me I always go to page 1 and read. I can normally tell if I’m interested in the book by the first paragraph! As far as a blog goes, colors don’t grab me as much as the topic. If it applies to me, I’m in regardless of the fancy fonts!

    Like

    • Yeah I can usually tell too if I like the book from the first chapter because I can tell by the way it is written. I have let myself get too far into books by forcing myself to keep on but then I still give up at the end or just hate the book anyway!

      Like

  2. Covers are definitely a make or break thing for me. Either the title, author, or cover itself HAS to grab my attention. I read authors I like over and over so anything new they write I pick up. Other than that you have to make me look at you because there are so many choices out there. Also, I do make my covers match when I buy books. The cover is part of the reason I got the book in the first place!

    Like

  3. I’m much the same way; if I like the cover of a book I will pick it up. But if the premise doesn’t interest me, then back down it goes! And I agree, I really dislike covers with character images that don’t match once you read. Ugh!

    Like

What do you think?

