Review: The Problem With Forever

Title: The Problem With Forever

Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout

Date of Publication: May 17, 2016

problem

Goodreads Summary:

For some people, silence is a weapon. For Mallory “Mouse” Dodge, it’s a shield. Growing up, she learned that the best way to survive was to say nothing. And even though it’s been four years since her nightmare ended, she’s beginning to worry that the fear that holds her back will last a lifetime.

Now, after years of homeschooling with loving adoptive parents, Mallory must face a new milestone—spending her senior year at public high school. But of all the terrifying and exhilarating scenarios she’s imagined, there’s one she never dreamed of—that she’d run into Rider Stark, the friend and protector she hasn’t seen since childhood, on her very first day.

It doesn’t take long for Mallory to realize that the connection she shared with Rider never really faded. Yet the deeper their bond grows, the more it becomes apparent that she’s not the only one grappling with the lingering scars from the past. And as she watches Rider’s life spiral out of control, Mallory faces a choice between staying silent and speaking out—for the people she loves, the life she wants, and the truths that need to be heard.

My Review: 

So I love love loveeeeeeeeeeee Jennifer L. Armentrout’s books.  I have been mainly a fan of her YA paranormal books, but I do really like the new adult contemporary books as well, so when I saw that there was going to be a YA contemporary book I just knew I had to get it.

First and foremost I don’t know what it is like to grow up in the system, but I sure can sympathize with them.  Mallory (Mouse) and Rider are the main characters, and it is told in first point of view through Mallory.  Mallory was a very likable character even though sometimes I just wanted to scream at her that she could do it!  She had a hard time speaking to people based on how she grew up.  Now Rider is the one that gave me the most feels, and I just wanted to jump through the book and give him a hug.

hug

Photo Credit

So Mallory is out of the system with a loving family who has raised her for the past four years, and it has been four years since she has seen Rider who she grew up with in the system and was always there as her protector.  She is starting public school for the first time where she again runs into Rider who also has a girlfriend. He is awe struck to see Mallory again because he thought he would never see her again after she was taken away and they were separated.

The journey that they go through together in this book is both emotional and so beautiful. There are struggles, friendships, devastation, and happiness.  This is my absolute favorite Jennifer book to date.  After reading it I had no clue what to do with myself!

Mouse and Rider were both very realistic characters, and I continued to root for them the entire time.

There are great side characters in this book that I felt just as strong emotional attachments to as I did with Mallory and Rider.  Whether it was Mallory’s best friend Ainsley who was so funny, Hector and Jayden who were part of the family that Rider lived with, and Carl and Rosa who I did want to strangle at times, but I understand why they would be so protective of Mallory after what she has gone through.

I could read this book over and over again which is very rare for me.

pride

Photo Credit

candace

Do you know anyone personally that has grown up in the system or if not what would you do to help them?

 

4 thoughts on “Review: The Problem With Forever

What do you think?

