Review: The Color of Us

Title: The Color of Us

Authors: Laura Ward & Christine Manzari

Date of Publication: June 20, 2016

Color

Goodread’s Summary:

Eighteen year old Alexis Sinclair is lost in the darkness of grief. Since the death of her sister in a car accident, she can’t find the will to get out and enjoy life again. When she’s forced to face her biggest fear and take a summer Driver’s Ed course, she’s surprised to find hope in the most unlikely person.

Liam O’Connell is trouble. He isn’t proud of his dark past, and he knows Alexis is the one girl he has no business pursuing. Doing the right thing has never been easy for him, but this time, it just might be impossible.

The perfect girl and troubled boy are all wrong for each other, but as Liam helps Alexis cope with her grief, they realize nothing has ever felt more right.

That is, until Alexis uncovers a secret about Liam that breaks her heart.

Liam knows he can’t allow the one good thing in his life to walk away without a fight, and he’s determined to convince Alexis they can find their way out of the darkness together.

Can he prove he’s worthy of her, or is some love too tainted to be saved?

My Review:

This book was an emotional and beautiful ride with such a gorgeous cover.  I think I might actually go paint my nails rainbow today.  Alexis aka Lex is the good girl that follows the rules and has become understandably the sad girl after losing her sister that died in a car wreck with her drunk boyfriend.  She starts drivers ed at eighteen before going off to college where she meets Liam who is the bad boy with a beautiful heart.

“Because every time I look at you, I see heartbreak. And trust me I look at you a lot.”

They form a special bond as they get to know one another, and he helps pull her out of that bubble that she seems to have trapped herself in and becomes more adventurous and although still missing her sister Sam, she starts to let herself go.  Swoon alert!!!  This book had a lot of it!

kiss

Photo Credit

Alexis and her sister Sam also had this thing when they were younger with rainbows, and that part was my favorite piece of the story just finding the color in everything.  Rainbows become her and Liam’s thing as well which just drives the force of the story.

I don’t want to give too much away but things happen and they are separated for a while in the story which most of the time I wanted to strangle Alexis and talk some sense into her, but fear not she wins me back.  The book is also told in both point of views which I really liked, and I loved I mean I really loved how much Liam grows throughout the book and the man he becomes not only for himself but for Alexis.

“And I know I’ve made mistakes, but when I’m with you, I want to be better. You make me feel like one day I could be worthy.  I want to be good enough for you, Lex.”

The side characters were great besides Alexis’s mom most of the time, but I loved her Dad, Stacy, and Julie. Stacy is such a beautiful character who is a rainbow in herself, and can I have her style please??

This is not just a story about romance, it is about growing up and still be yourself but a truly better version of yourself without losing your identity. It is about friendship, family bonds, and letting go.

rainbow

Photo Credit

This is an absolute perfect read for the summer or actually anytime in general! I was rooting for Alexis and Liam the entire time.

candace

 

 

 

 

 

What do you think?

