The Physic by: E. Burden + Interview

The Physic

Summary: 

Werewolves were thought to be hunted to extinction. Struggling on the edge of human life, a few have survived. When a godhead virus arrives to build his new empire, werewolves are the only things standing between his destructive desires and human civilization. The novel follows the stories of Taisho, the daughter of a forbidden match between a werewolf and a human, and Louise, a young woman who served as the host for the sentient virus. Set in a time and place where safety no longer exists and suffering is commonplace, The Physic is a story about the importance of selflessness and love in the face of extreme stress, prejudice, and othering.

Purchase on Amazon: https://amzn.com/B00BC69FUW 

Interview:

  • What made you decide you wanted to be a writer?

I didn’t want to be a writer. This is just one of the very, very few things I can do well and functionally, it’s a passion I didn’t chose I guess. I remember being so upset that I cried when I took the career aptitude test, and my ideal one was novelist. I came from a poor family and all I could think was that I was wearing a “starving artist” sign on my back. I feel differently now, and grateful for everything I have, but back then it was overwhelming.

  • Did you know you always wanted to write? 

I wrote my first novel in 8th grade. It was trash and I didn’t save it, but I was writing all the time as a young girl. I think, in all honestly, I do it to survive and make sense of the world-a lot like art.

  • What kind of books do you write? 

Horror usually, but always speculative fiction. Most of my stuff, even the children’s book I’m putting together hopefully this summer, is like a dark epic. I love the mythology of the hero, I think it’s really tested in works of horror or anything that has high stakes and low odds of success.

  • What are your top 3 favorite books? 

My favorite book is still Dune by Frank Herbert. This great combination of science fiction and social science and ecology that nothing has ever topped for me. The second would have to be Neil Gaiman’s The Graveyard Book, and the third is Peony in Love by Lisa See.

  • Do you have any other hobbies besides writing?

I think mothering takes up most of my hobby time, but art and design are my other passions. I illustrated the covers and the entirety of my new children’s book, and it is a lot of fun.

  • Do you have any advice for people that are wanting to write?

For people wanting to write, I would say, if you are young-find a niche in the writing industry (technical writing, etc.…) that allows you to study your craft early and pay your bills. I wish I had. I wish someone would have told me this is what you are good at, go this way. People my age, I’d just say keep a schedule. Keep a schedule every day when you have free time, and get at least a paragraph down per day, but one to three pages is preferable. It doesn’t even have to always be the same project; you just keep going. It takes roughly ten thousand hours of practice to become really good at something-even if you don’t keep what you write, you are logging those hours of practice and that matters.

  • Do you plot out when you write?

I always write an outline. I don’t always follow it, but it gives me a general feel and direction-I can take scenic routes and detours, or throw away the imaginary map, but the initial plan is important to me in both long and short works of fiction.

About the Author:

Erika

E. Burden is a writer and artist where she survives the Texas heat with her husband and three children.

Follow E. Burden

Blog: http://writeathomemothering.blogspot.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/EricaLBurden/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/BurdenEl

candace (1)

 

 

What do you think?

