Author Interview: Christine Manzari

The Sophisticates Series

 

 

Hooked

hoooked

College Bound Series

Interview:

What do you like best about writing?

The thing I like best about writing is the ability to create something that will touch someone emotionally or make them need to turn the page to find out what happens. As a writer, I’m able to make my own schedule and choose what I do every day and that’s an amazing feeling. If I want to write about a sword fight, I can. If I want to dream up a sexy scene, I can do that. The freedom and sense of power that comes with writing and creating is something I’ve never experienced at any other job.

What is your favorite genre of book and why?

First and foremost, a book has to have some sort of romance to it. If it doesn’t have at least the chance for someone to fall in love, I lose interest. I read a wide variety of genres, but my favorite is fantasy. I grew up reading the Chronicles of Prydain and the Chronicles of Narnia and I still gravitate to those types of books when I’m shopping in a bookstore. I love getting lost in magical made up worlds and I don’t think I’ll ever grow out of it. I guess the reason why I love fantasy so much is because the impossible can happen. Characters can cheat death or win a war against impossible odds. Fantasy is limitless.

What is your favorite book you have written?

I’m going to choose from my solo works on this question. My favorite book that I have written is Hooked. Not only did I enjoy writing a strong, confident female lead, but writing Hooked was cathartic for me. My mother died of pancreatic cancer and many of the scenes are things I went through with my own mom as we dealt with her illness. Writing down my pain was a way of letting it go. But Hooked isn’t just a story about grief and loss. It’s funny and brave and sexy and it was a lot of fun writing a book that was so out of my comfort zone at the time. I knew that I took a risk with writing a main character who was opinionated and flawed, but it was so rewarding when readers fell in love with her anyway.

If you could pick one character of yours to be who would it be and why?

If I could choose one character of mine to be, I would choose Arabella from The Sophisticates Series. As a Deviant, she has been genetically altered to have skills that are similar to that of the Indonesian Mimic Octopus. She’s exceptionally strong, she can change the way she looks with just a thought (even hair color), and she can stretch her body. I’d never have to go get a step stool again. In addition, Arabella is hilarious and loyal. She’s willing to sacrifice herself for her friends and I’d like to think if it came down to it, I’d be that loyal too.

If you could live in a different type of world what kind would it be?

This may be cliché, but if I could live in a different type of world, I would definitely live in the world of Harry Potter. I’m a die-hard potterhead and I would love to go to Hogwarts and study magic. I’d like to think I’d get to have en English accent too.

When did you discover that you wanted to write?

I discovered I wanted to write in the seventh grade. I’d always enjoyed reading, but the summer after seventh grade, I went to writing camp. I stumbled off the writing path in high school and college and got lost for a little bit, but I found my way back to the written world once my kids were born. It wasn’t until I read Twilight and read Stephenie Meyer’s bio about how she would write while her kids were at swim practice that I realized that just because I was a mom, that didn’t mean I had to be only a mom. I could be a writer too.

Who is your number one book boyfriend?

For a while, my number one book boyfriend was Warner from the Shatter Me series by Tahereh Mafi. Now, the number one spot has been taken by Rhysand from A Court of Thorns and Roses and A Court of Mist and Fury by Sara J. Maas. I really like bad boys, especially when they’re snarky and turn out to have good hearts. I also really like Drew from Tangled, Bennett from Beautiful Bastard, Morpheus from the Splintered series, Captain Thorne from the Lunar Chronicles, Arin from The Winner’s Curse, and Alex from Pucked.

Christine

Bio:

The first thing Christine does when she’s getting ready to read a book is to crack the spine in at least five places. She wholeheartedly believes there is no place as comfy as the pages of a well-worn book. She’s addicted to buying books, reading books, and writing books. She even turned her dining room into a library—reading is more important than eating. She also has a weakness for adventure and inappropriate humor. Christine is from Forest Hill, Maryland where she lives with her husband, three kids, and her library of ugly spine books.

Follow Christine:

Purchase:

candace (1)

What did you think of the interview?

One thought on “Author Interview: Christine Manzari

  1. Hi Candace, and nice to meet you Christine! Lovely interview. I LOVE learning about authors and their experiences of writing and reading. SO FASCINATING.

    Christine, It’s great that you can be a mom *and* be a writer simultaneously. It’s not easy when you have kids to care for with needs that tug on your heart, Once I put my kids to bed I have to muster up enough energy to do some writing.

    Nice interview
    Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

