The Dead of Haggard Hall by Marie Treanor + Author Interview

  index

The Dead of Haggard Hall

Darke of Night

Book One

Marie Treanor

2

Genre: Gothic/historical/paranormal romance

Publisher: Samhain Publishing

Date of Publication: 26th July 2016

ISBN: 978-1619235830

ASIN: B01CUOPRZQ

 

Number of pages: 216 (paperback)

Word Count: 71,000

Cover Artist: Kelly Martin

 

Book Description:

Spirit possession is easy to remedy. Possession of the heart is another matter.

After vicar’s widow and natural medium Barbara Darke loses her respectable teaching position, she reluctantly agrees to become companion to her former pupil Emily, now the bride of young Sir Arthur Haggard.

Once settled at Haggard Hall, Barbara finds her friend is beset by ghostly voices and unexplained deaths. In a maelstrom of dark spirits and wicked emotions, Barbara battles to lay Emily’s ghosts to rest—both hampered and helped by Arthur’s skeptical cousin Patrick, who provokes and attracts her in equal measure.

It would be a mistake to trust a secretive, guilt-ridden man suspected of driving his wife to suicide, if not outright murdering her. And it could well be lethal to give in to her own desires, confused as they often are with the lusts of the dead.

But Arthur and Emily are in genuine physical danger, and suspicion is falling closer and closer to Patrick—the man who haunts Barbara’s sensual dreams. The man who stands to inherit Haggard Hall.

Warning: Contains a medium whose body is open season for spirit possession, and a scandal-ridden journalist who only believes what he can see—and touch.

 

Author Interview:

  • Give us the history of you. (family life, where you’re from, etc.)

I’m Marie Treanor. I live on the east coast of Scotland with my husband of twenty-five years, and my three kids, two of whom are grown-up but not yet fled the nest. We have a small, lively dog who keeps us all on our toes, or at least on the end of his lead!

I write paranormal romance, mostly on the steamy side and have more than 40 books so far, New York, small press, and self-published

  • Tell us about your new book in 10 words or less.

Victorian hot Gothic romance. Medium fights evil spirits & sensual temptation. (I’m counting the “&” as a symbol, not a word J )

 

  • Walk me through the process that you went through to write your new book.

Once I had the characters straight in my head, and the beginning of the story, I sat down and wrote it. Being a bit of a pantster, I had to change bits as I went along, but mostly it flowed pretty well! I did a bit of a final self-edit and sent it to my editor who, fortunately, loved it!

 

  • How did you come up with your book’s name?

From the name of my hero and his family’s house. Haggard came to me as a great name for a Gothic hero, so I had his family live in an isolated old Gothic mansion called Haggard Hall. And since it’s full of ghosts, and my heroine is a medium, it quickly became The Dead of Haggard Hall

 

  • What made you decide to write this book?

I’ve always loved the Gothic genre in both books and films. But although this has come through in the Gothic elements of many of my books, I’d never actually set out to write a Gothic romance as such. I itched to write a modern Gothic novel which could fully exploit all the subtle sexual tension of the older books. But when the character of Barbara Darke began to grow in my mind, she was a Victorian, not modern at all! However, I think she’s relateable to modern readers: she accepts her temptations and desires as part of who she is. She is a sensual person and she tells a sensual story J

 

  • How many characters are based on people you actually know? Do those people know they were the basis for your characters?

No, if I use people I know in this way, they’re generally only part of a character. My characters are usually complicated composites of different people, real and imagined. And no, I doubt they’d ever know. I certainly wouldn’t tell them! Except my husband – he knows there are bits of him in several of my heroes

  • How many publishers did you send your book to before it was picked up?

Just Samhain. But I’ve been with them a long time, and my editor knows my work.

 

  • What book did you read most recently that you loved, and would recommend to everyone?

I’ve been reading Ashley Gardner’s “Captain Lacey” historical mystery series. The hero is a retired army officer in Regency England, who takes to solving crimes. It’s not really romance – although there is rather charming romance in it – but I love the whole series for the complicated characters and how their story constantly moves on.

 

  • Any tips for new writers?

Just keep writing! And reading, and learning – I don’t think that part of it is ever over!

 

  • Have you ever liked the movie more than the book? Be honest (and tell us which one!!)

I don’t think I have! Probably because I usually read the book first.

  • Are there any popular books you know you would never read? (tell us which ones!)

Probably George RR Martin’s Song of Ice and Fire books – just because I’m addicted to the tv series and I know it strays.

  • What are you working on now?

I’m planning a novella set in the Darke of Night world, to be released later in the year.

  • Anything else you would like to add?

Just that I hope you like reading The Dead of Haggard Hall as much as I enjoyed writing it! And that it’s first sequel, The Prisoner of Silverwood Castle, comes out in August!

And to say thank you so much for interviewing me – it’s been a pleasure!

 

Amazon     Amazon UK     BN     iBooks     ARe     Samhain

 

1

About the Author:

 

Marie Treanor lives in Scotland, in a chaotic house by the sea, together with her eccentric husband, three much too smart children and a small dog who rules them all. Most days, she avoids both housekeeping and evil day jobs by writing stories of paranormal romance and fantasy.

 

Marie is the award winning author of over forty sexy paranormal romances – Indie, New York and E-published.

 

Website: http://www.MarieTreanor.com

 

New Release Mailing List Sign-up:

http://www.marietreanor.com/marie-treanor-newsletter

 

Facebook:

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Marie-Treanor-Paranormal-Romance/105866982782360

Facebook: Timeline: https://www.facebook.com/MarieTreanor

 

Twitter: https://twitter.com/MarieTreanor

 

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/marietreanor/ 

 

Tour giveaway

$30 gift card

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/ba112ffc1374

4

Name Tag1

PS: What do you think of this book? Sound like one you will be picking up?

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “The Dead of Haggard Hall by Marie Treanor + Author Interview

What do you think?

