Review: Stealing Snow

Title: Stealing Snow

Author: Danielle Paige

Date of Publication: September 20th, 2016

snow

Goodreads Summary:

Seventeen-year-old Snow has spent the majority of her life within the walls of the Whittaker Institute, a high security mental hospital in upstate New York. Deep down, she knows she’s not crazy and doesn’t belong there. When she meets a mysterious, handsome new orderly and dreams about a strange twisted tree she realizes she must escape and figure out who she really is.

My Review:

This book starts out with the lead character Snow who has been in an in asylum for most of her life due to an incident from when she was a child. One of her only friends Bale has become more than a friend and on the day of their first kiss he goes a little crazy and gets locked away.

Strange things begin to happen and Bale is kidnapped to another realm, and Snow meets a another guy named Jagger who agrees to help her save Bale. She enters the new realm and discovers she is not a normal girl but a princess with magical powers.

Elsa.gif

Photo Credit

I originally thought this was going to be like Frozen the way it sounded but really the only thing that was in common was the snow powers so that part was good.  I was actually really into this book when Snow was in the asylum and even when she gets to the new world with Jagger. I even liked it when she loses Jagger and meets a witch and gets trained by her and enters new love interest Kai and her new friend Gerde. Oh and I loved Gerde! I would like a book just written about her!

I started to lose interest when Snow meets back up with Jagger because at this point we already have two love interests. One in which she risks everything to save but then still manages to crush on Kai?? Then we have to add Jagger into the mix? I mean don’t get me wrong I really liked Kai and Jagger, but they don’t both have to be love interests!!!!

Another complaint I have is that Snow just accepts everything so easily, and I feel that she came into her powers too quickly and was able to manage them in less than a week? I think I wouldn’t have been so bothered by this, but that love square just kept bothering me and making everything seem worse.

I did like the author’s writing though. It was an easy read and she described things quite well.  The action was there which I did like. I just can’t take indecisive characters and also she just got these powers and just jumps into the action her first week?

If you like multiple romantic interests then this is the book for you. I still may read book two, but I hope that gets solved rather quickly.

Name Tag1

How does this book sound to you?

8 thoughts on “Review: Stealing Snow

  1. I’ve seen some good things about the book and the author’s previous one. I didn’t know there was supposed to be a sequel though. And I have the same thought about snow powers. I love the idea, but I think basically everyone’s first thought is going to be Frozen!

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

