Review: My Lady Jane

Title: My Lady Jane

Authors: Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows

Date of Publication: June 7th, 2016

My Lady

Goodreads Summary:

The comical, fantastical, romantical, (not) entirely true story of Lady Jane Grey. In My Lady Jane, coauthors Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows have created a one-of-a-kind fantasy in the tradition of The Princess Bride, featuring a reluctant king, an even more reluctant queen, a noble steed, and only a passing resemblance to actual history—because sometimes history needs a little help.

At sixteen, Lady Jane Grey is about to be married off to a stranger and caught up in a conspiracy to rob her cousin, King Edward, of his throne. But those trifling problems aren’t for Jane to worry about. Jane gets to be Queen of England.

My Review:

This book starts out with King Edward who is believed to be on his death bed, so he is influenced to leave the throne to his cousin Jane, and he arranges her a marriage to Gifford who is the son of one of his advisers.

Jane is a lover of books and is not too fond of the idea of an arranged marriage and has no idea that her future husband becomes a horse by day when they are wed. All she knows is that he has a reputation with the ladies that may also be not true, but she does not know this.

Gifford who is not a fan of his name and prefers to go by G pretty much just deals with his horse curse and upon learning of his arranged marriage all he knows about Jane is that she always has her nose in a book.

Betrayal comes to King Edward’s palace in all shapes and forms and upon this Jane is crowned Queen, but Edward’s sister Mary is on a mission to take back what she believes to be hers and rid the world of all Edians who are humans that can take form of different types of creatures.

I really liked this book, and it was a fun ride.  If you want something charming and not to be taken too serious then this is the book for you.  My only pet peeve was when the narrators would chime in every now and then.  Also I was surprised that this book was written by three authors because it is very consistent and sounds like one steady writer.

I forget at times that this is loosely based on a true story which is a very sad story in fact in our history, but this puts a happily ever after on those individuals that should have been able to live out a happy existence.

Name Tag1

How does this book sound to you?

17 thoughts on “Review: My Lady Jane

  1. I actually do want something charming in my life tbh! And this seems like it might fit the bill – plus you mentioned along the lines of The Princess Bride? Oh yes – I love that book. This is actually a really sad story about a young woman who is very badly used – it would be nice to read an alternate version where her young life wasn’t quite as short and brutal.
    Lynn 😀

    Liked by 2 people

  2. While reading this I noticed Shatter Me up above, and I really need to get to reading it soon! Right now I’m just finishing the Mortal Instruments, so I think that series is up next. Out of curiosity, how did you come across my website? (I’m trying to figure out the best way to get it out to other bloggers.)
    Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. If this book was written by three people and you can’t tell, then that is a remarkable accomplishment. The story sounds intriguing in itself, but I’m really keen to see how it’s written.

    Thanks for the heads up. I would never have heard of this book if you hadn’t reviewed it.

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

