Review: The Secret Horses of Briar Hill

Title: The Secret Horses of Briar Hill

Author: Megan Shepherd

Date of Publication: October 11th, 2016

secret

Goodreads Summary:

There are winged horses that live in the mirrors of Briar Hill hospital. In the mirrors that line its grand hallways, which once belonged to a princess. In those that reflect the elegant rooms, now filled with sick children. It is her secret.

One morning, when Emmaline climbs over the wall of the hospital’s abandoned gardens, she discovers something incredible: a white horse with broken wings has left the mirror-world and entered her own.

Tucked into the garden’s once-gleaming sundial, Emmaline finds a letter from the Horse Lord. He is hiding the wounded white horse, named Foxfire, from a dark and sinister force—a Black Horse who hunts by colorless moonlight. If Emmaline is to keep the Black Horse from finding her new friend, she must collect colorful objects with which to blind him. But where can Emmaline find color when her world is filled with gray?

My Review:

Emmaline is a sick girl in a hospital along with other sick children. She sees horses with wings in mirrors. She goes into the garden and finds a horse with broken wings and learns from a letter from the Horse Lord that there is a black horse on a mission to hunt it down.

So first off I never read middle grade books. Well actually I can’t say never because I have read Harry Potter but only books 1 & 2, so I was pretty hesitant about reading this one. Buttttttttttttt let’s see… Horses? Horses with wings? Freaking pegasus? Yes!!!!!!!!!!!

Pegasus

Photo Credit

First I really liked the characters, and I really liked Emmaline. She felt real, and it is sad to see these children who are not the healthiest, but it is also what added the emotion. Thomas was one of my favorite characters, and I would have liked to know more about him.

This was actually a quick read and from the cover I assumed it would be light, but there are a lot of emotional aspects in the story that made me feel. I think I was just looking for a deeper plot, but then again it is middle grade, so I don’t have really anything to compare it to.

I think this is a great book for children to read especially ones that are looking for something a little more meaningful than some of the stuff that is out there today.

Name Tag2

How does this book sound to you?

5 thoughts on “Review: The Secret Horses of Briar Hill

    • I bought them for my daughter, and she seemed more interested in Spiderwick Chronicles! So I was like let me read these, but I still haven’t finished the rest!!!! I will be reading Furthermore though only because I loved the Shatter Me series!

      Like

What do you think?

