My Life: Migraines

Since I was 12 I have had some sort of migraine, and it has been a ride that I wish upon no one. They started out being rather short and once a year to being weeks out of a month.

migraine

I don’t have the same form all the time either. I have hemiplegic migraines which are usually about 1-2 days a month, pulsating migraines which are maybe a week or more out of a month, and then headaches which are maybe another week out of the month…

You may think well geez I don’t see how she reads? Well if I have a hemiplegic migraine I can’t, butttttt with these other ones it actually helps distract me unless it is pulsating too bad. Now things with bright lights such a television, computers, ipad, etc. I have to avoid when I have a hemiplegic or pulsating migraine.

What is a hemiplegic migraine you ask? Well good I will list you the symptoms, but first please don’t ever go to google or WebMd for a diagnosis.  All that does is promotes anxiety and usually wrong diagnosis.

Symptoms of hemiplegic migraine include:

  • Severe, throbbing pain, often on one side of your head
  • A pins-and-needles feeling, often moving from your hand up your arm
  • Numbness on one side of your body, which can include your arm, leg, and/or one side of your face
  • Weakness or paralysis on one side of your body
  • Loss of balance and coordination
  • Visual aura, such as seeing zigzag lines, double vision, or blind spots
  • Language difficulties, such as mixing words or trouble remembering a word
  • Slurred speech
  • Dizziness or vertigo
  • Nausea and vomiting
  • Extreme sensitivity to light, sound, and smell
  • Confusion
  • Decreased consciousness or coma

Now I do not have all of these symptoms, but I do have a lot of them and yes it does feel like I am having a stroke.  At times I do want to tear my skull apart, crush my skull together like an eggshell, beat my head against the wall, pull my brain out through my skull and throw it against the ground, and a number of other things that would not be possible.  I just have to take each day the best I can and as cliche as it sounds just remember that there are worse things out there… like not breathing.

I have not found a solution out of everything that I have tried, but my one complaint is when you try a med out and you have side effects yet still have the symptoms.

It was discovered through my daughter who has an SCN1A gene mutation that I have the same thing as well. Some people just think oh a “headache” but migraines are a debilitating disease that no one should have to suffer from.

Name Tag2

Have you ever suffered from migraines or know someone that has? If not do you suffer from any other type of on going illness or disease?

 

52 thoughts on “My Life: Migraines

  1. I’ve suffered with migraines for over thirty years, and have had every symptom on your list. It is maddening and frustrating because life just stops, and I don’t know how long the migraine will last – a day, a week, or like the migraine from July of 1994…three weeks. Can’t forget that one because I spent nearly the entire time in the hospital. Doctors never did find a cause or a cure. They kept me sedated to keep my blood pressure down. I woke up one morning and it was just…gone.

    After all these years, my family is well-versed in migraines and their symptoms, but I know people who’ve never even had a simple headache, and they don’t understand how simply turning my head during a migraine can induce vomiting. But then, neither could the dozens of doctors I’ve dealt with.

    My last migraine was in March and sent me to the ER two days in a row. My neck was frozen – couldn’t turn it left or right – and I was treated as a cardiac patient. When I was diagnosed as NOT having a stroke or heart attack, I was sent home. Yeah, the migraine was never even addressed.

    When the migraine became worse the next day, my husband took me back to the ER and demanded someone do something to ease my pain. I saw a different doctor (YAAY) who literally created an IV ‘cocktail’ for me. I fell asleep and when I woke up, it was as though I’d never had a migraine to begin with!

    I have not had a migraine since that one, but I made sure he put his ‘recipe’ in my file so hopefully, I can avoid the endless questions and tests should I get another migraine of that intensity.

    I wish you much luck with yours. I’ve been a part of several research studies, and still have no clue as to the cause of my migraines. Maybe one day. ☺

    Liked by 1 person

    • Since March is so awesome! I hope you don’t have any more. I went to the hospital when I was pregnant when I had one of these since I was scared about the baby, but the doctor there was so ridiculous. With all the study and money you think there would be better solutions for this and other types of health issues.

      Like

  2. I’ve never suffered from hemiplegic migraines and I really feel for you because those sound horrendous. I do get the usual pulsating migraines about once a week, sometimes more depending on things like stress or lack of sleep, but they’re not as debilitating as some people’s. I also suffered with cyclical vomiting migraine as a child and it seems to have reared its head again now that I’m an adult, which is no fun at all and impacts my life much more than the usual headaches!

    Hopefully one day they find some kind of miracle cure for migraines, but until then I hope you manage to get yours under control! I’ve found sumatriptan can help, but nothing ever fully works for migraines, they just do what they want. Also, there’s an app you get on iPhone, not sure about android, but it’s called Migraine Buddy and it’s really helped me with working out my triggers and what gives me the most relief from a migraine, I definitely recommend it!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I also suffer from migraines and feel your pain. I just switched meds again to see if these will work better. My old medicine would numb the migraine so it was a headache but not take it all away. It’s hard especially now that I have 3 kids to take care of finding ways to deal with a migraine and not be completely knocked out! Some nights I just have them all hang out in my bed and watch a movie quietly while I hid under the covers… Migraines suck…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. My human mom had migraines from the time she started menstruating to the time she had a total abdominal hysterectomy. She used to use the Imitrex injection, then tablets, which made her feel like a different kind of sh** but did cut down the migraine. She would also have migraine alerts, such as smelling a burning, copper smell and flashing lights. The Imitrex eventually started giving her chest pains so she had to go off. Also, Depakote and Topomax were tried with failed result. Since having the hyst the migraines have stopped. Maybe gets a headache now and then but nothing like it had been. I sympathize with you, and wish you the best. Woof!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Those sound horrible. And I don’t know how people deal with it. I don’t get migraines but I do have constant headaches every day. I don’t know what I’d do if I got migraines. I hope soon they find something to help everyone.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I do have migraines occasionally – fortunately sporadic (and I think hormone based). I have the funny vision which is a bit like a kaleidoscope going on in the top of one eye – this is usually before any headache symptoms occur (and they’re really nothing like a headache). Sorry to hear you suffer from these – they really are quite exhausting when they happen for me and give me the ghost of a headache for two or three days after plus make me extremely tired. All the best and hope you find something to help.
    Lynn 😀

    Liked by 2 people

  7. My boyfriend used to have migraines. It used to be so bad that he could not get out of the bed. It happened for years and all of the sudden it stopped. I only had a few in my life and it was horrible. I feel your pain and I hope it will stop at some point. 💕💕💕

    Liked by 2 people

  8. I know how you feel,Ive had really bad migraines since I was 12,They last about a day or two,I normally have a migraine headaches about once a month,I find co-dydramol or migralive help me,I totally understand how you feel

    Liked by 2 people

  9. Thank you for sharing insight about something that has always been a mystery to me. I have friends who suffer regular migraines, and they have to sleep in a dark room for a day until the symptoms ease. I didn’t know about the different versions.

    My chronic pain condition is a rare genetic eye disorder. I have 2 rows of eyelashes that grow in both eyes, and one row grows on the inside of the eyelid, scratching my eyes. I now have severe scarring in both eyes, and I manage my condition with lubricating ointments and eye drops. Throughout my life I have had surgery to ease the pain, including laser therapy to burn the lashes out, and eyelid rotation surgery.

    It has left me feeling crazy, and in the past there were times when I wanted to literally rip my eyes from their sockets to try and ease the pain. I have associated Dry Eye Syndrome as well, and it does prove a challenge when I am desperate to read or write and I can’t even see properly. The symptoms are beginning to worsen again now, which signals the potential need for more surgery. Although I epilate the ingrowing eyelashes myself, they are growing back thicker and more frequently.

    Our flawed human bodies!

    https://spookymrsgreen.com/2011/09/02/rare-eye-condition-and-a-writing-career/

    Liked by 2 people

    • Wow!!!! I have never heard of that eyelash situation! My mom does have chronic dry eyes pretty bad and that is rough as it is. I hope you don’t have to have surgery again. These doctors need to come up with better ideas!!!

      Like

  10. My migraines also started when I was 12. There are times when no pills help, then I make myself fall asleep because nothing else works. Now when it’s so hot where I live, my migraines visit me almost every day. At first, I thought I was developing a brain tumor or something, but then I realized that in the US alone 3 million people suffer from it, so I just have an ordinary chronic disease.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I have migraines and this past week had one of those monsters. I’ve had them since I was about 7 and now get Botox injections every 8 weeks. I just wrote about my migraine but it’s such a fuzzy time in life it’s very hard to explain. It’s enough to give a person PTSD because of the fabulous mood you can be in days before the migraine and the next time you’re in a great mood you have that fear seep in “Is this the indication of a migraine again?”

    Liked by 2 people

  12. Ah I’m so sorry to hear how much you have to go through. Does anything give you any relief? So I never used to suffer migraines until I got very stressed with my job and then they hit me. I am working to get my life back but it’s a slow progress. I’ve never had hemiplegic migraines though. They sound so tough. Keep fighting. Loving your blog x

    Liked by 2 people

  13. Migraines are horrible. What’s almost worse is that people who don’t suffer from them seem to think we’re making a bigger deal than it really is! I have vestibular migraines which cause daily vertigo and a million other symptoms, it’s not fun. Sorry to hear that you have to deal with these, and I agree that it is something that no one should have to suffer from!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Glad to have found your blog. I was actually searching for blogs about migraines (yes, I have them) and I also love books. Migraines are terrible – I have learned some of the triggers for mine and avoid those, but they still come, unpredictably, which makes living a normal life a bit of a challenge. I also read when I can, like you said, sometimes the light, brightness and sound from computer or tv are too much for my head. Thanks for posting. I’m looking forward to seeing your book reviews!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. My migraines really started to get serious when I was 21 too! They I’ve been gradually improving now, but it can be so hard to cope with! I don’t have any other medical problems except for issues with anxiety and PTSD that started shortly after my migraines began

    Liked by 1 person

  16. First of all, I’m so sorry to hear about your migraines. They truly do (excuse my language) knock you on your ass for however long they feel like sticking around.

    Personally, I suffered from debilitating, 48-hour-long migraines for 5 years. Thankfully, I never experienced a hemiplegic one like you have – I can’t imagine how disorienting that must be. But I went to about 5 different doctors, cycled through medications, and found SOME relief, but not much with the treatments offered.

    Eventually, I stumbled upon a physician who specialized in mindbody medicine… and within 2-3 months of following the program he set out for me, my migraines steadily became less frequent and less intense, until they went away completely. Sometimes when I tell people this they wonder if I had “real migraines,” so let me answer that now – YES, absolutely, 100%. They were the most painful and real things I have ever had to live through.

    This has had such a drastic impact on my life that I actually switched careers to help bring the approach to more people… and that doctor who helped me is now one of the medical advisors I work with. Everyone is unique, so the only way to know whether or not this option could apply to you is to look into it. But for me, it made a life-changing difference. You can learn more at https://www.curablehealth.com if you’re interested.

    In any case, good luck and I hope you start finding some relief in whatever way you can!

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

