Motion Picture Monday: Movie Review

Motion

Movie: Don’t Breathe 

Date of Release: August 26th, 2016

Don't

Imdb summary:

A group of friends break into the house of a wealthy blind man, thinking they’ll get away with the perfect heist. They’re very wrong.

 

My Review:

So this movie starts with the main character Rocky and her friends Alex and Money breaking into a house and stealing things. Rocky is doing this to try to get enough money to save her sister from a terrible home that they live in with their horrible mother. I don’t know why Money is doing it, and I felt like Alex is just in it because he is in love with Rocky.

So Money gets this tip about this guy who got $300,000 from a settlement from his daughter’s death. The group decides this will be their last robbery because it will be enough money to able to get them out of town. They come to realize the guy they are robbing from is also blind.

Okay first off I have zero sympathy for these characters. I get it Rocky and her sister live in a terrible home, but come on come up with a different plan than robbing from some blind guy. Rocky was a pretty selfish character in general.  Money was just a terrible character in general and seemed like the typical douche, so I am not sure what Rocky saw in that. Alex was my favorite character, but he still made a lot of dumb moves especially for Rocky when I am sure there are way better people that he could have been hanging out with.

The movie was pretty predictable, but there were a couple of parts that did surprise me, but it wasn’t enough to make me scream at the top of my lungs “Yes!!!”

Also this guy became blind sometime when he was in the military, but I feel like he was a little too good at doing stuff. I am not blind, so I don’t know, but I feel like I would still be stumbling around a lot, and some of the stuff he did and had I was like come on man seriously?

Although it wasn’t the best movie I have seen since I haven’t been impressed by a horror or thriller movie in quite a while, it was still something to watch. I didn’t hate it, but I didn’t love it either.

 

Name Tag2

Have you seen this film yet?

 

16 thoughts on “Motion Picture Monday: Movie Review

  1. After watching the trailer I think I have to agree with your comment regarding his abilities. There wasn’t one stumble! Maybe a few stumbles may have made him more acceptable. I’m sure I’d be critiquing this as the movie went on… 😉
    Don’t think I’ll bother….

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I saw this and hadn’t seen the extended trailer. I saw the first one that was a little over a minute long. I got to see an early free premiere of it and enjoyed it. I understand what you mean about the Blind Man not stumbling. He’s a trained war veteran and the way he arms himself somewhat shows he was well trained. He’s blind, yes but when one sense isn’t functional all the others make up for it. I think what threw you and many others off is not knowing how long he’d been getting accustomed to his surroundings. I don’t think we agree on the movie and I respect your opinion. However, you have a great review.

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

