Review: Empire of Storms

Title: Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass #5)

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Date of Publication: September 6th, 2016

empire

Goodreads Summary:

The long path to the throne has only just begun for Aelin Galathynius. Loyalties have been broken and bought, friends have been lost and gained, and those who possess magic find themselves at odds with those don’t.

As the kingdoms of Erilea fracture around her, enemies must become allies if Aelin is to keep those she loves from falling to the dark forces poised to claim her world. With war looming on all horizons, the only chance for salvation lies in a desperate quest that may mark the end of everything Aelin holds dear.

Aelin’s journey from assassin to queen has entranced millions across the globe, and this fifth installment will leave fans breathless. Will Aelin succeed in keeping her world from splintering, or will it all come crashing down?

My Review:

Okay so this book was everything. EVERYTHING! This series just knows how to get the emotions flowing. Everyone is back in this book except Chaol, and he is absent this book because he is healing after what happened in the last book. I was never a Chaol fan, but I did sort of still miss him.

Aelin – She is everything that I would like to be in the way that she puts everyone first, and you may think she is being reckless along the way, but she is always two steps ahead.

Rowan – Beautiful and lovely Rowan! He is a fighter, and the romance between him and Aelin is healthy and that forever kind of love.

Manon – She is strong and loyal to her thirteen, and the things we learn in this book about Manon were heartbreaking!

Dorian – He is still trying to find himself after everything terrible that had happened from the previous books, but my favorite part was actually the friendship formed between him and Rowan.

Aedion – We learn a very interesting detail from Aedion that was also played out as no big deal in the book which was awesome. Sometimes he just needed to calm down, and he really should be a little nicer to his father.

Lysandra – Love this strong shape shifter and her loyalty to Aelin. Their bond is unbreakable.

Elide – She may not have magical power, but she is strong and smart, and the scenes with her and Lorcan were my favorite! The shirt scene!

Lorcan – My new favorite male character!!! He just needs a lot of love in his life.

There were several scenes where I was like oh yes! The scenes with Manon and her grandmother were absolutely amazing. As I mentioned above the scenes with Lorcan and Elide were my favorite, and I wasn’t sure at first, but after I read the first chapter with them I wanted more.

The action was so good, and the romances were spot on. I know a lot of people have been complaining about the romance scenes which yes they should be for mature audiences, but they aren’t that bad, but I still wouldn’t consider it YA… definitely upper YA.  All these characters are 19 and older, so it is to be expected. Also yes Sarah is doing a lot of pairing up which I normally hate, but the couples that she pairs up are just so darn good!

The ending! The amazing ending! For a whole year I am not going to have one single clue what to do with myself because it is a cliffhanger! On a side note I definitely recommend reading The Assassin’s Blade before this one because the novellas connect with this book!

Name Tag2

Have you started this series yet?

 

 

14 thoughts on “Review: Empire of Storms

  1. I’m kinda sad about how forced the sexy times were. Sure they were new adult sex scenes but that wasn’t the issue for me. The issue for me was that they were so unnecessary. I didn’t think SJM needed any more past the beach scene. Great review! PS: the end of EOS Killed my soulllll 😭😭😭

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

