Review: A Shadow Bright And Burning

Title: A Shadow Bright and Burning

Author: Jessica Cluess

Date of Publication: September 20th, 2016

a-shadow

Goodreads Summary:

I am Henrietta Howel.
The first female sorcerer in hundreds of years.
The prophesied one.
Or am I?

Henrietta Howel can burst into flames.
Forced to reveal her power to save a friend, she’s shocked when instead of being executed, she’s invited to train as one of Her Majesty’s royal sorcerers.

Thrust into the glamour of Victorian London, Henrietta is declared the chosen one, the girl who will defeat the Ancients, bloodthirsty demons terrorizing humanity. She also meets her fellow sorcerer trainees, handsome young men eager to test her power and her heart. One will challenge her. One will fight for her. One will betray her.

But Henrietta Howel is not the chosen one.
As she plays a dangerous game of deception, she discovers that the sorcerers have their own secrets to protect. With battle looming, what does it mean to not be the one? And how much will she risk to save the city—and the one she loves?

a-shadow

My Review:

As soon as Henrietta uses her power to save her friend, a sorcerer named Agrippa identifies her as the chosen one. She then comes to train with a group of sorcerer boys, and along the way she learns who she really is and will have to help try and save everyone.

I will admit it took me a few chapters to get into this book, but once I did it was unputadownable! It was like Pride and Prejudice meets Harry Potter! The sorcerers get their own Stave. This book had me at stave *dreamy eyes*!

Henrietta was a character that I think people can relate too. She discovers things and then doesn’t always tell the truth which I usually hate, but it is so understandable here. Nettie will do anything to protect her best friend Rook who is fighting demons of his own. She meets a crazy magician on the way where she discovers things about herself that she just wants to push away, but then she does everything in her power to practice and become the sorcerer that everyone wants her to be.

The monsters throughout the book were terrifying, and I loved it!!! The darker the villain is the more I am invested, and these beasts hold back nothing.

There was definitely more action over romance, but the romance that was there has not taken bloom yet, so I really have no idea who the main love interest might be. There is the best friend Rook and the funny Magnus which are the front runners. There is no confirmation from book one, but maybe hopefully Blackwood? He is like Mr. Darcy!

Not many books this year have had me on the edge of my seat, but this one had my fingers anxiously tapping the book and needing to know what was going to happen next. The magician Hargrave who trained Henrietta has a secret that I am going to have an anxiety filled mind until I learn it. Hopefully at the beginning of book 2!!!

Name Tag2

How does this book sound to you?

16 thoughts on “Review: A Shadow Bright And Burning

  1. Great review! I’m glad that you pushed through the first chapters and found the book to put you on the edge of your seat. This book is on my future TBR, and now I am looking forward to it even more.

    I also nominated you for the Blogger Recognition Award.
    You are in no way obligated to participate but if you want to join in, here is my post: https://poreoverthepages.wordpress.com/2016/09/18/blogger-recognition-award/

    Jessica @ Pore Over the Pages

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

