Review: The Forgotten Fairytales + Giveaway

The Forgotten Fairytales tour banner

The Forgotten Fairytales
by Angela Parkhurst
Genre: YA Fantasy
Release Date: February 10th 2014

ForgottenFairytales - cover

Summary from Goodreads:

Once upon a time, seventeen-year-old Norah Hart believed in the lure of fairytales and happily ever afters. That was before she was forced to live in a fairy tale nightmare.

A psychotic, couture-clad, shoe obsessed Princess.
A not-so-charming, alcoholic Prince.
A hot Big Bad Wolf that she absolutely cannot fall for—no matter how well he kisses.

If Norah had known she’d be attending a boarding school for the nut job reincarnations of fairy tale characters, she would have insisted on going to Moscow with her father. But getting out isn’t as easy as she thought. Especially once Norah realizes she, too, is a storybook character. An Unknown. The first one in over one hundred years. Soon Norah learns she has the ability to rewrite the stories, putting everyone’s Happily Ever After in jeopardy.

Some princesses will do whatever it takes to protect their endings. Even if it means betraying the one closest to you.

My Review:

Norah and her sister are to attend a boarding school while her Dad has to go to Moscow. This boarding school is nothing as it seems when everyone there is really a character straight out of a fairy tale.

I really liked that these characters weren’t how we all have come to know them to be. The perceptions we have known all our lives are now erased as we read about these characters. A prince who is no charming prince but just a drunken idiot is one example that I was very pleased with.

My favorite part of this book was actually the romance. Wolf can I keep you? I loved Wolf and how he struggled with himself and never believing in the fact that he was enough for Norah when in fact he was way  more than enough. The struggle for him to quit running away from her stressed me out but that is okay because he makes up for it.

The story itself felt to me as if Once Upon a Time characters were all in a boarding school together which was different than anything I have read. I would have actually preferred if this wasn’t told in urban fantasy because I wasn’t a fan of the Punk’d or Ashton Kutcher name dropping or if maybe some of that was left out.

I loved the main character Norah and how she protects everyone that she cares about. She was an extremely strong character and funny too. I read this book in one sitting, and as the book went on I did like the beginning more than the end. It was a little predictable but a lot of fun.

 

Add to Goodreads

Buy Links: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Createspace

 

 

angela parkhurst

About the Author

I am the author of the Forgotten Fairytales series.
I love reading YA and NA books. I have 2 toddler boys, 2 mini doxins & I’m married to my high school sweetheart. I have an obsession with books, Disney, and am fueled by a wicked coffee addiction.

In addition to YA fantasy, I write contemporary young adult and new adult novels.

 

Author Links:

GoodreadsTwitterFacebook

 

GIVEAWAY:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Blog Tour Organized by:

YA Bound Book Tours

YA Bound Tour Button

Name Tag2

How does this book sound to you?

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Review: The Forgotten Fairytales + Giveaway

  1. Great review, Candace! I enjoyed this one, as well, and sped through it. Wolf has my heart, too! The few times those names were dropped stood out to me, too. I felt they could have been left out but like how it was in a modern world.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Blog Tour Day 5 & Surprise! – Angela Parkhurst, Author

What do you think?

