Movie Review: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

miss

Director:

Tim Burton

Writers:

Ransom Riggs (based upon the novel written by), Jane Goldman (screenplay)

Imdb Summary:
When Jacob discovers clues to a mystery that stretches across time, he finds Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. But the danger deepens after he gets to know the residents and learns about their special powers.
My Review:
First thing first I still have not read this series yet, but I love most of Tim Burton’s movies. I liked the fact that this had an x-men feel with the kids having powers or peculiarities, but didn’t dress like comic book characters. As with most Tim Burton movies the atmosphere drew me completely in with the music and the costumes especially when the main character Jacob gets to Miss Peregrine’s home. Eva Green is amazing as usual!
Jake was an alright character but a little boring, and he has just lost his grandfather. Heย goes with his father (who is ridiculous) to Miss Peregrine’s to prove that these oddities are not real. He then meets Emma who was my favorite character. She can do all sorts of amazing things, but I heard in the book she is actually the one with the fire powers instead of Olive. Not sure why they reversed their powers… I guess so that Emma could do cooler things vs set stuff on fire.
The scene with Enoch when he brings these toy things to life was really cool because it was like a stop action sequence. The creatures or monsters that are after the peculiars were super creepy which I like anything creepy. The smaller peculiar children were so cute I wanted to hug them all!
I was already worried about Samuel L. Jackson because he is not one of my favorite actors, but he was actually okay in this. ย The slight romance that was going on between Jake and Emma was kind of odd, but other than that I loved it! Definitely go see it!
name-tag2
Have you seen this yet or read the books?
28 thoughts on “Movie Review: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

  1. Great review! I have read the first book and part of the second novel in the series and still really enjoyed the film although it strayed from the book in a few ways. For instance, some of the children’s ages and peculiarities were assigned to a different character. Loved the film anyway as I am a big Tim Burton fan. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes. I read the book, but have yet to see the movie adaption. Jacob isn’t the most exciting character on the book either, but the characters and their oddities makes for a very good read. There’s a hint of romance in the book as well. I love Tom
    Burton. So it sounds like he’s pretty spot on with the characters. But like with most movie adaptations, I think the book is better.

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

