Review: Crooked Kingdom

Title: Crooked Kingdom

Author: Leigh Bardugo

Date of Publication: September 27th, 2016

crooked1

Goodreads Summary:

Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a heist so daring even they didn’t think they’d survive. But instead of divvying up a fat reward, they’re right back to fighting for their lives. Double-crossed and left crippled by the kidnapping of a valuable team member, the crew is low on resources, allies, and hope. As powerful forces from around the world descend on Ketterdam to root out the secrets of the dangerous drug known as jurda parem, old rivals and new enemies emerge to challenge Kaz’s cunning and test the team’s fragile loyalties. A war will be waged on the city’s dark and twisting streets―a battle for revenge and redemption that will decide the fate of magic in the Grisha world.

My Review:

First off I loved this book! I also might add that this book has the prettiest edges I have ever seen.

crooked

This book starts right off where book 2 ended, and Kaz and his crew are going to do everything they can to get back one of their own that was taken at the end of book one. Crooked Kingdom is told in point of views from all 6 characters. I loved each one even with all the issues they have going on, but I must say Inej is my absolute favorite. She is strong and human and even with everything she has been through she can still find the good, but she is never gullible.

The whole book was action packed and with each character like the last book there would be flashbacks of what happened in their lives, and you can see why they have become the way that they are.

Kaz – My broken street prince I want to give you a hug even though I know you shy away from human touch

Inej – I want you to teach me to scale a wall oh so quietly

Mathias – Your strength is what I need, and you are my second favorite!

Nina – Your humor could make me smile all day

Jesper – Teach me how to shoot

Wylan – Your sweetness can light my way

I don’t want to let these characters go! I also might say that there are a few characters that make an appearance from the Grisha trilogy. I will also say that one is my absolute favorite from the Grisha trilogy and needs to get their own story pleaseeeeeeeeeeeeeeee! I was jumping up and down and so incredibly excited!

I don’t want to give too much away, but this one was an emotional ride! By the end of the book I had tears in my eyes, and I am still yearning for an epilogue! The piano scene stood out for me the most. You will have to read it to see what I am talking about.

 

name-tag2

Have you started this series yet? What is your favorite character?

6 thoughts on “Review: Crooked Kingdom

What do you think?

