Movie Review: Middle School: The Worst Years of My Life

Title: Middle School: The Worst Years of My Life

middle

Imdb Summary:

Imaginative quiet teenager Rafe Katchadorian is tired of his middle school’s obsession with the rules at the expense of any and all creativity. Desperate to shake things up, Rafe and his best friends have come up with a plan: break every single rule in the school and let the students run wild.

My Review:

So first off I would not have seen this movie to begin with if it were not for my daughter who has been wanting to see it since she saw the trailer over the summer. As an adult it is one of the worst movies I have seen in my life, and I am sure my younger self would have hated it as well. My daughter however absolutely loved it.

The only characters I liked were Mr. Teller and the mom’s boyfriend. The rest were just trying too hard. The only thing I was excited about was that Pedro from Napoleon Dynamite was going to be in it, but he might as well have not been in it because he had like approximately one line in the whole movie!

The pranks that Rafe pulls, example the post-it one, there would be no way that that could have been done in the time that he did it. I get it this movie was supposed to be far fetched which is fine, but it was borderline ridiculous.

The slight romance was out of place and quite cringe worthy and would have been better without it. There were scenes that they tried to pull the heart strings from the audience, but I was already so bored with the movie that I just didn’t care. Just because I was not a fan of the movie does not mean you would not be a fan because obviously my seven year old was already asking me to buy the movie after we saw it. Hopefully she forgets that it ever existed, so I don’t have to watch it ever on the small screen.

name-tag2

Have you seen this or read the books?

 

6 thoughts on “Movie Review: Middle School: The Worst Years of My Life

What do you think?

