Review: Shadow Fall

Title: Shadow Fall

Author: Audrey Grey

Date of Publication: November 22nd, 2016

shadow

Goodreads Summary:

The asteroid hurtling toward the earth will kill billions.

The Emperor and his Gold Court will be safe in their space station, watching from the stars. The Silvers will be protected underground. But the Bronzes must fight it out at the Shadow Trials for the few remaining spots left on the space station.

When an enigmatic benefactor hands Maia Graystone a spot in the Trials, she won’t just get a chance at salvation for her and her baby brother, Max: She gets to confront the mother who abandoned her in prison, the mad Emperor who murdered her father, and the Gold prince who once loved her. But it’s the dark bastard prince she’s partnered with that will make her question everything, including her own heart. With the asteroid racing closer every day, Maia must trust someone to survive.

The question is who?

My Review:

Shadow Fall begins with the main character Maia who has lived years in a hole underground where she has had to struggle to survive. She was one of the chosen, and is pulled out from underground and comes face to face with a boy named Riser who helped put her in that hole, and a new opportunity to get back at the Emperor who has taken so much from her will arise. She will do anything to rescue her little brother even if that means joining Riser and beginning the Trials.

This book actually started off okay. Maia wasn’t the perfect specimen and neither was Riser who was missing an eye and covered in scars. I really liked where the plot was going until it started to sound piece by piece of every single dystopian book I have ever read. Sometimes it seemed like The Hunger Games, but then I would feel Divergent creeping up on me, and then I was like no it is The Uglies oh wait no it is Matched! This kept going on, and it just felt like too much to me.

I also didn’t like that the characters go under reconstructive surgery, and of course Maia ends up being beautiful, but what made it odd was she was also Everly because she has this other girls memories inside her brain, so there was a lot of her not really knowing who she was.

There was a slight love triangle going on which normally I don’t mind if it is done right, but here Maia has really strong feelings for Riser, but then she kind of still might like Caspian too because of her childhood crush from when she was 9??? Come on!

I loved Riser’s character. In fact he was the only character I really liked. He was extremely complex especially with how he grew up underground, and I feel like if the story would have been told from his point of view I would have most likely enjoyed it more.

There was a ton of action going on, and it isn’t really that the story is bad it is just that it is not original. The author’s writing was actually quite good, and I may even read the second book because this one does end on a pretty rough cliffhanger that left me wanting to know what happened.

name-tag2

What is your favorite dystopian book?

2 thoughts on “Review: Shadow Fall

  1. I also really struggled with the whole Maia/Everly thing and just kinda didn’t understand who she was? And I was also disappointed that they had the reconstructive surgery and became perfectly beautiful because one of the main reasons I was interested in the book in the first place was for the unique and imperfect MCs.

    I also agree about loving Riser’s character! My review doesn’t go up until a week or two, but I swear half of my review is just me talking about Riser lol.

    I think I feel about the same as you in that there was some stuff I liked, some I disliked, but I’ll probably also read the second book. I’m too curious. And I like Riser too much 😛

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

