“Raising an Entrepreneur” by Margot Machol Bisnow

I read any interesting parenting books I come across. I mean, this is the most confusing and important job in the world. I’ll take any good advice I can get. Which, when it comes down to it, isn’t  a lot. My favorite parenting book was one based in science, “Nurture Shock”by Ashley Merryman and Po Bronson-and it took apart a lot of pervasive myths about “successful” parenting.

I enjoyed “Raising an Entrepreneur” for some of the same reasons. A mother with two entrepreneurial sons interviewed other entrepreneurs and tried to dissect the qualities of their upbringing that led them down their path.

entreYou probably don’t need more evidence that helicopter parenting sucks, or that fixing every thing for your son or daughter is a terrible idea. But it is addressed here that those things are horrible.

Most of the interviews have things in common: the successful entrepreneurs came from close families (whatever that consisted of was different, but that they had people who loved them) and their parents got out of the way while making sure they knew they were loved-and absolutely believed in.

It pushes a little bit of sports down your throat-competitive sports. I have two kids old enough to engage in that, and they have absolutely no interest. I can’t blame them. I didn’t either, nor did my husband growing up. We preferred self-driven activities, and still do. It appears our kids are the same, and there’s not much time spent on kids who don’t fit in there.

But there is time spent on kids who, academically or otherwise, are struggling. And that was amazing. Those were the interviews that stuck with me. If you have a child dealing with learning disabilities or physical ones, I recommend this book, just for the sole purpose of reminding you how wonderful their lives can turn out when we support and believe in them.

And that’s what this boils down to. It didn’t offer me some new, strange truth. It reaffirmed things I think, as parents, we know. It may be hard to implement when your child makes choices you think aren’t correct or won’t lead to something fruitful, but we know: Our support and love matters, and freedom to understand who they are is important. Your child might not grow up to run their own business, but those tips will help them anyway. It was an interesting read, despite not being novel.

erika

You can also find me at http://writeathomemothering.blogspot.com/

 

 

 

What do you think?

