Review: Daughter of the Pirate King

Title: Daughter of the Pirate King

Author: Tricia Levenseller

Date of Publication: February 28th, 2016

daughter

Goodreads Summary:

A 17-year-old pirate captain intentionally allows herself to get captured by enemy pirates in this thrilling YA adventure.

If you want something done right . . .

When the ruthless pirate king learns of a legendary treasure map hidden on an enemy ship, his daughter, Alosa, knows there’s only one pirate for the job—herself. Leaving behind her beloved ship and crew, Alosa deliberately facilitates her own kidnapping to ensure her passage on the ship, confident in her ability to overcome any obstacle. After all, who’s going to suspect a seventeen-year-old girl locked in a cell? Then she meets the (surprisingly perceptive and unfairly attractive) first mate, Riden, who is charged with finding out all her secrets. Now it’s down to a battle of wits and will . . . . Can Alosa find the map and escape before Riden figures out her plan?

Debut author Tricia Levenseller blends action, adventure, romance, and a little bit of magic into a thrilling YA pirate tale.

My Review:

daughter1

I have been wanting to read Daughter of the Pirate King from the second I read what the book was about! Then the second I saw that gorgeous cover I was all in. Plus a YA book about pirates? Yes!

Alosa who obviously is the pirate king’s daughter arranges for herself to be kidnapped by their enemies so that hopefully she can find a special treasure map. Things become complicated, and the enemy captain’s brother, Riden, may be more than just a pretty face.

First off this book was fun, but I didn’t find anything super new or special here. Everything within seemed to have been done before in different YA books that I have read. I haven’t read a book specifically about pirates, so that part was different.

Alosa, I am still unsure how I feel about her. There was a lot of repetitiveness in her thought process which actually may be how we all are in real life when we think to ourselves, but as a reader I just wanted to say enough. I get that she is awesome and can take pretty much any pirate down, but do we necessarily have to keep hearing about it? I do give her props for being a strong and independent woman and a female pirate at that.

I did like the romantic chemistry between Alosa and Riden, but the way it happened was odd and too fast with them being attracted to each other pretty much right away. Eventually they grew on me, and I did really like Riden.

Now if you are in it for the action then there is plenty of that, and there is a nice little surprise that I didn’t guess, but while not really surprised by it, I liked it! If you want a fun book about pirates then this is a good book to read!

name-tag2

How does this book sound to you?

8 thoughts on “Review: Daughter of the Pirate King

  1. I want this book so bad…! I’ve been in love with the idea of it for a long time but I guess that means I’ll get disappointed. Who knows?
    Great review 🙂 I’m not a fan of almost instalove either but need to see it for myself before I make an assumption.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have not heard of this book before. The title was incredible though and my hopes went sky high! The I read the synopsis, expectations even higher. The the line about the love interest and I fell down from the sky and bruised myself. “the unexpectedly attractive man”, somehow I’ve gotten fed up with those, especially if they are such a big deal they are mentioned in the synopsis.

    But this was a great review 🙂 good writing!

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

