Review: Heartless

Title: Heartless

Author: Marissa Meyer

Date of Publication: November 8th, 2016

heart

Goodreads Summary:

Long before she was the terror of Wonderland — the infamous Queen of Hearts — she was just a girl who wanted to fall in love.

Catherine may be one of the most desired girls in Wonderland, and a favorite of the yet-unmarried King of Hearts, but her interests lie elsewhere. A talented baker, all she wants is to open a shop with her best friend and supply the Kingdom of Hearts with delectable pastries and confections. But according to her mother, such a goal is unthinkable for the young woman who could be the next Queen.

At a royal ball where Cath is expected to receive the king’s marriage proposal, she meets Jest, the handsome and mysterious court joker. For the first time, she feels the pull of true attraction. At the risk of offending the King and infuriating her parents, she and Jest enter into an intense, secret courtship.

Cath is determined to define her own destiny and fall in love on her terms. But in a land thriving with magic, madness, and monsters, fate has other plans.

My Review:

heart

When I heard that there was going to be a prequel to Alice in Wonderland based on The Queen of Hearts, and by Marissa Meyer no less, I was ecstatic!

Cath is the main character, and her main goal in life is baking and would love to one day open up a bakery with her best friend Mary Ann. Her mother has other plans, such as her marrying The King of Hearts.

One night Cath meets Jest, the new court joker, and is instantly attracted to him. That part to me was fine, but what bothered me was how fast it was insta love. I did like them together and I did really like Jest.

Heartless had a slow and steady build that I drank in, and when I reached the last one hundred pages, I was flying through them and eating them all up. The emotions and action got really intense, and I loved it! The Jabberwock seens pulled me in, and all the talk about food had me hungry!

Now, I hated The Cheshire Cat who I wanted to kick in the face, Mary Ann was annoying and careless, and The King was an idiot. At the beginning I really felt bad for the king, but then as the story progressed, I realized what a coward he really was. I wasn’t sure about Hatta at first, but he became one of my favorite characters as did another character named Raven.

Cath, Oh Cath… Cath… Cath… I did like her, I really did. The problem I had was her careless mistakes, even after a prophecy???? She also did not stand up for herself most of the time to her parents or the king, but that changed eventually which had me proud.

I still loved The Lunar Chronicles more than this, but Heartless was still a great read for anyone who has or hasn’t read Alice in Wonderland.

name-tag2

How does this book sound to you?

4 thoughts on “Review: Heartless

What do you think?

