Review: In Wartime: Stories from Ukraine

ukraine

 urkaine
My Review:
I generally try to stay away from Nonfiction books. I tend to get bored to tears attempting to read them, and then can’t even remember what I just read. However, when I saw that this book was about Ukraine, I decided to take the chance. My husband’s mother was adopted from Ukraine, so I wanted to know a little more about it.
The story has a lot of focus from individuals and their experiences with Ukraine which drew me into the book. There are some real pictures in the book that had me connecting more with the book.
I am not going to lie here, a lot of this stuff did go over my head while reading this, but I was able to get a better understanding on Ukraine and what is going on over there.
The book had a lot of very grim things, and you almost forget for a moment that this is real life. Some of the things were haunting, and I really felt for this country. For anyone that is a Nonfiction person, I would recommend picking this book up.


ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Tim Judah is a reporter for The Economist. A graduate of the London School of Economics and of the Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy at Tufts University, Judah worked for the BBC before covering the Balkan wars for The Times and other publications. He covered the war in Ukraine for The New York Review of Books. He lives in London with his wife and five children.


I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.
name-tag2
How does this book sound to you?
What do you think?

