Review: The Sun Is Also a Star

the-sun

ABOUT THE SUN IS ALSO A STAR

The Instant New York Times Bestseller!

The dazzling new novel from Nicola Yoon, the #1 New York Timesbestselling author of Everything, Everything, will have you falling in love with Natasha and Daniel as they fall in love with each other!

Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.

Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of us.

The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true?

the-sun-is

My Review:

I expected this book to be super cute from all the raving reviews, unfortunately this wasn’t what happened for me. The book started out okay, but when all the grunge band name dropping started to form, I had started having enough. I don’t care about Nirvana, Chris Cornell, or Pearl Jam! I actually prefer it when authors make up band names or movie titles instead of name dropping all the time. I could have overlooked this if I had actually liked the book.

I liked Daniel until his love (I mean obsession) started to form as soon as he meets Natasha. I can definitely see starting an awesome attraction and hanging out and really liking each other in one day but not saying I love you!!! Natasha I just really didn’t care for either! I feel bad because I was excited for the diversity of this book! Jamaican and Korean American were awesome!!

Then we get to the dialogue and most of it is mumbo jumbo that no one can really understand unless you are some philosophical type of person, which I am not! I usually stick to fantasy, but occasionally I like to read a nice contemporary book. This just wasn’t for me, but I can see where a lot of people would love this type of book, so you should just read it for yourself to find out!

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

NICOLA YOON grew up in Jamaica (the island) and Brooklyn (part of Long Island). She currently resides in Los Angeles, CA with her husband and their daughter, both of whom she loves beyond all reason. Everything, Everythingis her first novel.
I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.

name-tag2
How does this book sound to you

 

2 thoughts on “Review: The Sun Is Also a Star

What do you think?

