Review: Gilded Cage

Title: Gilded Cage

Author: Vic James

Date of Publication: February 14th, 2017

gilded

Goodreads Summary:

Not all are free. Not all are equal. Not all will be saved.

Our world belongs to the Equals — aristocrats with magical gifts — and all commoners must serve them for ten years. But behind the gates of England’s grandest estate lies a power that could break the world.

A girl thirsts for love and knowledge.

Abi is a servant to England’s most powerful family, but her spirit is free. So when she falls for one of the noble-born sons, Abi faces a terrible choice. Uncovering the family’s secrets might win her liberty, but will her heart pay the price?

A boy dreams of revolution.

Abi’s brother, Luke, is enslaved in a brutal factory town. Far from his family and cruelly oppressed, he makes friends whose ideals could cost him everything. Now Luke has discovered there may be a power even greater than magic: revolution.

And an aristocrat will remake the world with his dark gifts.

He is a shadow in the glittering world of the Equals, with mysterious powers no one else understands. But will he liberate—or destroy?

gilded

My Review:

I really loved the cover to this book and was quickly drawn into the description. Even though I know never to judge a book by its’ cover, I am still drawn to the pretty covers. I actually was not able to finish this book. There were a lot of point of views in this book. I didn’t care about any of the characters, and for the most part I kept getting distracted by how slow the chapters were. Most of the time I forgot what I read and kept having to go back. I just wasn’t a big fan of this world or the setting. If there were less point of views, I think I would have enjoyed it more.

name-tag2

How does this book sound to you?

15 thoughts on “Review: Gilded Cage

  1. Considering this has been such a hyped up read, its disappointing to hear you didn’t finish it, let alone like it. I too am a sucker for pretty covers so fingers crossed I might get on with this book better – although I’m not a fan of multiple POVs… 😦 Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I read this as an ARC a few months ago, and had some issues with it as well. Looking back, I probably rated it higher than I actually felt about it (3 stars). I hated the sexism, that was barely addressed, and which gets worse as it goes on. And the fact that one of the only PoC characters was referred to as looking “thuggish” at one point. Ugh.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m having the same issue with this book as well. I’m sad that it didn’t get much better for you, since I was looking for some hope to get me back into it. Drags. Great thoughts, though!

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

