Movie Review: Split

split

IMDB Summary:

After three girls are kidnapped by a man with 24 distinct personalities they must find some of the different personalities that can help them while running away and staying alive from the others.

My Review:

So, we all know that M. Knight has a hit or miss when it comes to his movies. The Village is my absolute favorite out of all his movies. Even though a lot of people didn’t like it back in 2004, because it wasn’t what they thought it was going to be. To me, I loved it. It reminded me of Running Out of Time; a middle grade book that I read back in the 90’s. Anyways, I am getting off topic here.

Split was a hit for me. I may be biased because I L.O.V.E. almost all of James McAvoy’s movies. Even if it was a different actor, I still would have liked it. I’m a big fan of movies that have different personalities. Going from one character to another has got to be difficult, and it was sooooooooo good here.

james

Photo Credit

The kidnapped girls, I feel like I would have done things differently in their situations, but I have never been in their situation. So, would I really have? Or, am I all talk? I thought Anya Taylor-Joy was a little mechanical, but her backstory had me understanding why she was the way she was.

The pacing had me wanting to know what was going to happen, and were these “bad personalities” all talk and no show about a beast? We do come to find out. Also, there is a cameo that had me leaping for joy. If you haven’t seen this movie I am talking about, you might not know!

Go check it out for yourself!

name-tag2

Do you want to see this movie?

13 thoughts on “Movie Review: Split

  1. I’m actually really curious about this movie split personalities are super interesting to me even though this is definitely an incredibly dramatized, and intense version that is not anything near a close representation of what split personality is really like, but the whole story line just catches my attention and I do want to see it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That cameo made me SCREAM!!! I really gotta watch that particular movie again. I also really love Shyamalan’s movies. Even the bad ones. I found this one to be a smidge predictable but I enjoyed it, too. Definitely highly dramatized with a hint of the supernatural.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I like The Village too. When I found out that James was doing a movie with Mr. I Have A Plot Twist, it made me cringe because I’m not a big fan of M. Night Shyamalan. However, I have heard good reviews about this one. I’ll definitely watch it once it’s available here.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I have never seen the movie The Village, I am going to have to look for it! But the movie was quite interesting and I loved when his personalities would change and I would try to guess who is who before they actually told who they were… Barry was my favorite. I really lived the movie.

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

