Review: Bad Blood

Title: Bad Blood

Author: Demitria Lunetta

Date of Publication: March 14th, 2017

bad-blood

Goodreads Summary:

A girl discovers a family secret and a past full of magic that could both save her and put her in mortal danger in this suspenseful novel that’s perfect for fans of Katie Alender and Natasha Preston.

All sixteen-year-old Heather MacNair wants is to feel normal, to shed the intense paranoia she’s worn all year like a scratchy sweater. After her compulsion to self-harm came to light, Heather was kept under her doctor’s watchful eye. Her family thinks she’s better—and there’s nothing she wants more than for that to be true. She still can’t believe she’s allowed to spend her summer vacation as she always does: at her aunt’s home in Scotland, where she has lots of happy memories. Far away from all her problems save one: she can’t stop carving the Celtic knot that haunts her dreams into her skin.

Good friends and boys with Scottish accents can cure almost anything…except nightmares. Heather can’t stop dreaming about two sisters from centuries ago, twins Prudence and Primrose, who somehow seem tied to her own life. Their presence lurks just beneath the surface of her consciousness, sending ripples through what should be a peaceful summer. The twins might hold the key to putting Heather’s soul at rest…or they could slice her future deeper than any knife.

My Review:

Once I got past the title reminding me of Taylor Swift, I couldn’t help but be mesmerized by that magnificent cover! Heather has had a problem with cutting and had to spend time in a treatment center. Her aunt has cancer, and her parents let her go and visit her in Scotland, since they don’t know how much longer she will have. Why Heather’s parents just let her go all the way to Scotland without them when she has had a cutting problem is beyond me.

When Heather comes to Scotland, she begins to have weird dreams about two sisters that had magic of their own. Are the sisters real or just a figment of Heather’s imagination?

The book goes back and forth between present and past, and I loved the past scenes and all the betrayal and backstabbing that reeked havoc on my soul! I liked the MC for the present chapters and felt that Heather was relatable. There is also a dash of romance sprinkled in that felt nice since they were already friends before.

giphy

Photo Credit

When the magic starts, I felt like I was watching parts of The Craft, but without crazy Nancy. The magic aspects were interesting! I loved how there was an explanation about everything, and that this was a stand alone. At least I hope it is a stand alone, because it is hard to find those nowadays!

name-tag2

How does this book sound to you?

Advertisements

4 thoughts on “Review: Bad Blood

What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s