Review: The Castaways

Title: The Castaways

Author: Jessika Fleck

Date of Publication: April 3rd, 2017

cast

Goodreads Summary:

Mean Girls meets Lord of the Flies in this YA contemporary fantasy.

The Castaway Carnival: fun, mysterious, dangerous.

Renowned for its infamous corn maze…and the kids who go missing in it.

When Olive runs into the maze, she wakes up on an isolated and undetectable island where a decades-long war between two factions of rival teens is in full swing.

Trapped, Olive must slowly attempt to win each of her new comrades’ hearts as Will—their mysterious, stoically quiet, and handsome leader—steals hers.

Olive is only sure about one thing: her troop consists of the good guys, and she’ll do whatever it takes to help them win the war and get back home.

My Review:

The Castaways was a very interesting ride. I have never read Lord of the Flies sadly, so not sure about that, but I definitely got the Mean Girls vibe in the beginning. This trio of girls puts the ladies from Mean Girls to shame!

giphy

Photo Credit

First off, I am not sure why everyone acted like the name Olive is a pun? I like the name! So, basically, Olive goes to this carnival to meet her friend and runs into the trio where they hunt her down through a corn maze. Somehow Olive gets transported to a mysterious island, where she runs into a group of other kids that have been trapped there for a while.

The whole island situation was pretty cool, and I loved the cast of side characters. Especially Tilly, Bug, and Charlie! Will becomes more than just a friend, and he is pretty awesome!

There were a couple of clichéd lines that I was slightly annoyed with, like how the main guy always has some kind of crooked nose that looks like it has been broken or a look that the main character can not decipher. I can push those things aside because the plot was interesting! There was also a twist that I actually did not see coming! Overall, a pretty good read!

name-tag2

How does this book sound to you?

6 thoughts on “Review: The Castaways

  1. Great review! I’m right at the end of this one and hoping to finish before I fall asleep but I’ve really been enjoying it. I haven’t read Lord of the Flies myself either, tried when younger but got bored with it and haven’t tried it again but I kept thinking it had a Neverland feel to it with the kids not aging etc.

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

