Review: The Replacement

Title: The Replacement

Author: Brenna Yovanoff

Date of Publication: September 21st, 2010

The replacement

Goodreads Summary:

Mackie Doyle is not one of us. Though he lives in the small town of Gentry, he comes from a world of tunnels and black murky water, a world of living dead girls ruled by a little tattooed princess. He is a Replacement, left in the crib of a human baby sixteen years ago. Now, because of fatal allergies to iron, blood, and consecrated ground, Mackie is fighting to survive in the human world.

Mackie would give anything to live among us, to practice on his bass or spend time with his crush, Tate. But when Tate’s baby sister goes missing, Mackie is drawn irrevocably into the underworld of Gentry, known as Mayhem. He must face the dark creatures of the Slag Heaps and find his rightful place, in our world, or theirs.

My Review:

So, I had no idea that this book even existed. There was a sale at our local library, and I had a coupon for a free book, so I picked it up on a whim. The cover is ultimately creepy, and I was intrigued!

Photo Credit

The book itself wasn’t as dark as I expected it to be, but it still had some creepy aspects. I normally don’t read a lot of books where it is a guy narrative the whole time, but I did like Mackie. Sometimes he did seem a bit emo, though. Tate got on my nerves at times, and I am still not completely sure if I even liked her.

Overall, it was a quick and easy read, and the idea of children being swapped out by a different creature was interesting, but I just wanted more from this!

name-tag2

What do you think of the cover?

5 thoughts on “Review: The Replacement

What do you think?

