April Library Finds, And The Book That Found Me.

It was harder to choose books this month. Maybe we’re all just holiday-tired. Maybe nothing looks good anymore because most of us are fighting the end-of-the-school-year fatigue. I’m not sure. Anyway, we did get a few good ones.

First is “One Trick Pony” by Nathan Hale. The art is stylized, but memorable and matches the tone of the book, wherein a robot pony saves the day. It is bleak, it’s a future where aliens have taken over the tech and the world, but it isn’t overwhelming for kids who want that kind of adventure (and there isn’t a lot available for that, honestly). My oldest loved the graphic novel, and I think other preteens will, too.

horse

 

Have you seen the interactive board books that are also recipes for making real food? I hadn’t come across one until last week, and we loved it. So much for my toddler to play with while reading and it covers a REAL recipe for pancakes and REAL kitchen utensils. This might be my favorite board book ever because, while it entertained my youngest, it gave the kids and I all a project of making pancakes with the very simple recipe it provided. Thumbs up all the way, it is a lovely idea and execution. “Pancakes! An Interactive Recipe Book” by Lotta Nieminen is awesome. And they have one on pizzas, too.

51SYEG8Q96L._SY495_BO1,204,203,200_

 

In one of what I’m sure will be many attempts to be less financially stupid, I’ve been looking into books about money. Specifically, books that are written by women about money.  “The Money Class” by Suze Orman fits that bill. My husband and I like Suze, she gives pretty decent advice, and that is what this book is: tons of advice for things like opening savings accounts for kids and what they really need for college and what you really need to take care of right now.  You can’t really go wrong with that, though this was dated a handful of years after the recession in 2008. She changed some of her previous advice to deal with the financial instability many of us face still. Not a bad read, and comes with some website freebie links, too.

IMGP3687

 

Like your technology intertwined with magic in your fiction? My husband does. And he was really happy with Rjurik Davidson’s “Unwrapped Sky”.

51+CvaiRQML

And, finally, the book that found me.

51xqpzGecbL

A black, sleek cover with distressed wording caught me by surprise. It was surrounded by the pastel and bright colors of the children’s section that is like our second home in our local library.

But this book was way, way out of place.

I read the title “After The People Lights Have Gone Off” and immediately knew it was horror. You can’t have a title like that and not be a horror book. The cover was slick, and no matter how many times I wiped it away, it was like a permanent slick. The sticky sheen made it stand out even more among the cheery surroundings. And it was written by  Stephen Graham Jones, a Native author I hadn’t heard of until I picked up that book. I’m so glad I found this, or that this book found me. It’s a collection of short stories, really well-written and won’t take you a lot of time to finish. It’s good horror, it really is. I had a few “eh” moments in the story endings, but not as many as I usually take away from this kind of stuff, and I will be looking into getting more material by this writer.

If meeting the out of place book wasn’t weird enough, it came with a small hand-written note tucked away in the pages. Even skeptical me, after reading fiction this dark, was afraid to open and read whatever was hidden in this book determined not to stay where it belongs.

Luckily, it just read  “Now it’s your turn to ask someone a question.”

Huh. And people think libraries are boring.

Erika

http://www.writeathomemothering.blogspot.com

 

 

 

 

One thought on “April Library Finds, And The Book That Found Me.

What do you think?

