Review: Replica

Title: Replica

Author: Lauren Oliver

Date of Publication: October 4th, 2016

28448287

Goodreads Summary:

Lyra

From a distance, the Haven Institute, tucked away on a private island off the coast of Florida, looks serene and even beautiful. But up close the locked doors, military guards, and biohazard suits tell a different story. In truth, it is a clandestine research facility where thousands of replicas, or human models, are born, raised, and observed.

But when a surprise attack is launched on Haven, two of its young experimental subjects—Lyra, or 24, and the boy known only as 72—manage to escape. As they make their way through a new and menacing environment, they meet a stranger named Gemma, who has embarked on a perilous quest of her own. And as Lyra tries to understand Haven’s purpose, she uncovers earth-shattering secrets that will change the lives of both girls.

Gemma

Gemma has been in and out of hospitals her whole life. A sickly child, she has grown into a lonely adolescent whose life is circumscribed by home, school, and her best friend, April.

But after she is nearly abducted by a stranger claiming to know her, Gemma starts to investigate her family’s past and discovers her father’s mysterious connection to the secretive Haven research facility. Hungry for answers, she travels to Florida, only to stumble upon two human models, or replicas, 24 and 72—and a completely new set of questions. As Gemma tries to unravel the mysteries of Haven, she learnes terrible truths about herself and her family that will threaten to destroy everything she loves.

Two girls, two stories, one novel.

While the stories of Gemma and Lyra mirror each other, each contains revelations critically important to the other story. Their narratives can be read separately or in alternating chapters.

My Review:

So, me and my friend have started alternatively picking books to read, and this was our next book. I was first excited because of the cover, and because I love Lauren Oliver’s Delirium series.

The book itself can be read three ways. Lyra’s story and then Gemma’s story, Gemma’s story and then Lyra’s story, or alternate between chapters. I feel like my mistake was reading Lyra’s whole story first. I should have alternated between the two because I think it wouldn’t have felt as repetitive. The concept is pretty cool, though.

Also have you seen The Island? I love that freaking movie, and I thought that this was basically a retelling of that when I read Lyra’s story… The romance and things that happened with 72 and Lyra even reminded me of The Island.

giphy (1)

Photo Credit

My main issue with this book was these girls! It made sense for Lyra to not understand the world and things, but she would give these nicknames to people that were just odd. Gemma, on the other hand, was not a skinny girl which I thought was great. BUTTTTTT we never stop hearing about it. She doesn’t want to order her a Happy Meal in front of a guy or her thinks about her non-existent waist, etc. It just would have been awesome for her not to bring it up all the time!

giphy (2)

Photo Credit

The boys however were extremely likable! I loved 72 and I loved Pete! The story was fun in some places, but the twists I wasn’t surprised by. Overall, it was just okay for me!

name-tag2

Have you read this book?

4 thoughts on “Review: Replica

  1. I was curious to hear your thoughts. Seems like a lot of the reviews I’ve read say it was ok. Disappointing with such a great author and such a great cover!!!! I would love to frame that picture and hang it up, if it was a great book. Lol 😂 BUT……the movie The Island, on the other hand, OMG!! I’m with you there!!! I could watch that movie over and over….I love it!!!💜💜💜

    Liked by 1 person

    • Honestly, if I hadn’t seen the movie I would have probably liked the book more. And, if Gemma wouldn’t have complained so much about her weight! But I agree with you on that amazing cover!! 😍

      Like

    • I felt like Lyra’s perspective was definitely like The Island. Lol I love that movie too! They even say something like “when we were on the island” that’s not an exact quote though! 😂😂😂

      Like

What do you think?

