Review: Independence Denied

Title: Independence Denied

Author: Calvin Demmer

Date of Publication: July 1st, 2017

35570280

Goodreads Summary:

With Independence Day near, Brad Marshall is expecting another routine day at his job as a research assistant. Then he sees a peculiar creature on one of the screens at work. While the rest of the world focuses on a sudden rash of devastating natural disasters, Brad is transfixed by the image he’s seen. He refuses to give up until he knows what it is. The answer he finds, however, will change the world forever.

My Review:

This is the third short story I have read from Demmer, and I have loved each one. They are fun and just what I need in between reading longer novels. This is one that puts a whole new spin on celebrating Independence Day.

giphy.gif

Photo Credit

There was some awesome creepiness to the story, and I wasn’t sure what was going to happen. The character, Brad, felt real again even though it was a short story. I don’t want to give too much away, but again the ending was just awesome!!

name-tag2

Do you read short stories?

 

4 thoughts on “Review: Independence Denied

  1. Pingback: Review: Independence Denied — Literary Dust – horrorcontinued

  2. Pingback: Review: Independence Denied — Literary Dust | Fantasy Sources: Art, Gifts, Ideas, Article Resources, News

  3. OMG so cool!! I love the cover!! I haven’t read Unidentified Fatherly Object yet, but it’s on my list to read soon! I like short books once in a while, plus they’re great to catch up with your GR reading challenge (and boy do I need to catch up!). I’ll have to add this one to my list, it looks really good!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I feel like they are awesome for reading in between long books! Sometimes I don’t want a 600 page book all the time! 😂😂 I also should have upped my Goodreads challenge! I set it pretty low this year!

      Like

What do you think?

