Review: The Beguiled

MV5BMTg5NjY3NDYxMl5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMjI5ODgyMjI@._V1_SY1000_CR0,0,674,1000_AL_

IMDB Summary:

At a girls’ school in Virginia during the Civil War, where the young women have been sheltered from the outside world, a wounded Union soldier is taken in. Soon, the house is taken over with sexual tension, rivalries, and an unexpected turn of events.

 

 

My Review:

So, I had no idea that this was a remake until my sister in-law and friend told me while we were at the movies. When I first saw this trailer, I knew I had to see it. It looked dark and awesome. I like most of the actresses here. Colin Farrell can be hit or miss for me.

Anyway, even the music in the trailer has that atmospheric touch. While the movie itself did have a nice atmosphere, it was not as dark as I thought it was going to be. Where was the darkness?????

giphy (1)

Photo Credit

There was betrayal I suppose? But it could have been better, and the way the trailer portrays some of the stuff is not how it is portrayed on screen. Most of the adult characters came off as wooden. I guess that’s how they are supposed to be during that time? The little girl, Marie, didn’t have a lot of scenes, but she was my favorite. I didn’t like Elle Fanning’s character in this movie, but she pulled off the character well.

It wasn’t bad it’s just I needed more betrayal and cruelty in this movie as bad as that sounds!

 

name-tag2

Have you seen this movie?

6 thoughts on “Review: The Beguiled

  1. I watched the trailer and thought it was brilliant! Too bad it’s one of those cases where the trailer is better than the movie, it seems :/
    I’m not usually a fan of girls-getting-back-at-men (because the plot is usually very idiotic) but this one seemed to have more to it than meets the eye, so I’m intrigued. I also usually enjoy Sophia Coppola’s movies so I hope this one is just as good.
    Awesome review, Candace! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The original Clint Eastwood version is better. It has some dated elements. However there is a lot of cruelty and betrayal in that one. Eastwood’s character was more of a manipulator. Farrell was such a dupe here. The new one left put taboo subjects featured in the original. Incest plays an integral part of the plot. Nicole Kidman’s character in the original had a relationship with her brother that had disappeared. Much more story and character development. The Sofia Coppola version felt a little watered down. To be fair it has strong visuals and great costumes. Just not much underneath.

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

