Review: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

Title: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

Author: Ransom Riggs

Date of Publication: June 7th, 2011

FullSizeRender

Goodreads Summary:

A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of curious photographs.

A horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.

A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children will delight adults, teens, and anyone who relishes an adventure in the shadows.

My Review:

I actually saw the movie when it came out last year, which I really liked. I loved the whole whimsical feel that Tim Burton manages to do really well.

giphy (3)

Photo Credit

So, right away when we are introduced to the peculiar children, I noticed that Emma had a totally different power in the book than the movie. I already knew this from what my sister in law had told me when she first saw the movie trailer. I actually think the air power was much cooler, and I can see why Tim Burton switched Emma and Olive’s traits. I haven’t read the sequels yet so not sure how it would effect that.

I’m not usually a big fan of books told only from a guy’s POV, but it was fine this time. I would have liked reading Emma’s POV and seeing how it was to be in her head. I think it would have been very interesting with everything that she has gone through!

There’s a small romance in the book, nothing overpowering, but it was…weird… I mean, I like both Emma and Jacob, but the fact that Emma had been in love with Jacob’s grandfather in the past, and also that she is really super old, kind of weirded me out. I know she’s stuck in this time trap thing, but come on! But, I still like Emma and Jacob’s chemistry if that makes sense.

I also loved that Jacob felt like an actual sixteen-year-old boy. He could be bratty and annoying yet selfless, so I thought he was an excellent fit! The other kids had cool abilities, and the pictures that accompany the book were amazing!

name-tag2

Have you read this book or seen the movie?

8 thoughts on “Review: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

  1. I read the book first, and I’m really glad I did! I think the movie kind of ruins the book for you. But, I love the movie! I just think it is messes with the book a little too much. Tim Burton is great. But it’s Ransom Riggs that I was in awe of when I read this book. He took those old photographs that he found, and using his imagination he made up this wonderful, creative story! I think he has not only an amazing imagination, but a wonderful ability to be able to share it with us! He is a master storyteller in my eyes!!!

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

